2013 Board Members

Honorary Board Members

Brigadier General Bob Cardenas, USAF Retired, Veterans Community Elder Statesman

Frank Burger, US Air Force Veteran, Dean Emeritus of San Diego Veterans


2013 UVC Board Members

Jack Harkins, USMC Retired

Jack Harkins is a retired Marine officer with a 35 year Marine Corps career that included 9 years enlisted service 1965-1975, and then commissioned service until 2001.  He served 2 combat tours in Vietnam, 1966 – 1968; combat duty in Somalia 1993; commanded Marine Wing Support Squadron 373 1995-1997; retired in May 2001 from duty as Deputy Chief of Staff for Installations and Logistics, Marine Corps Air Bases Western Area.  He entered private business and managed facility construction of information technology and communication centers in California, Nevada, and Washington, until he accepted a Marine Corps civilian staff position to direct Installations and Logistics functions for Commander Marine Corps Air Bases Western Area 2002-2009, during which he made the site selection for a Veterans cemetery on MCAS Miramar property that became Miramar National Cemetery in 2010.  UVC service is ten years, including 2012 Chairmanship.  His current additional services: Director of the Veterans Day Parade and Veterans Week San Diego; Veterans Museum & Memorial Center Board of Directors; San Diego Veterans Coalition Board of Directors; One VA Community Advisory Board Member, San Diego Military Advisory Council Members.  His Veterans Service memberships are:   Marine Corps Association Life Member, Military Order of the Purple Heart Life Member, Military Order of the World Wars Perpetual Member, and Veterans Of Foreign Wars Life Member.


 Vice Chairman  David Silva
David Silva holds a professional position with the State of California Employment Development Department in San Diego, serving as the Local Veteran’s Employment Representative.


Treasurer  David Moran

David Moran served 30 years in the U.S. Naval submarine and surface nuclear propulsion program with enlisted service from 1966 to 1979 on Fleet ballistic Missile and Fast Attack Submarines.  He was commissioned as a Limited Duty Officer in 1979.  Served on the USS Long Beach, commissioning crew of the USS McKee, COMSUBGROUP Five, COMSUBRON Eleven, COMNAVAIRPAC and COMNAVSURFPAC staffs. He has been participating in the UVC for 4 years and is currently serving as the treasurer. David worked for Solar Turbines following naval service, is a registered tax preparer and a Veteran of Foreign Wars Life Member.


Communications Committee Chair:
Bob Phillips

Bob Phillips served on active duty for two years as an officer in the U. S. Navy.  Since that time, he has spent over 40 years in the marketing, advertising and public relations business.  He founded and managed three successful marketing communications companies, two of which were sold prior to founding Phillips Marketing in 1989.  Bob has been deeply involved in San Diego veteran community activities including the last 12 years with the Mt. Soledad Memorial Association, Inc.  He has represented that organization at the United Veterans Council for the last six years.  He has also been active in helping develop sponsorships for the San Diego Veterans Day Parade.  Besides his associations in the veteran communities, he has served on the boards of a number of non-profit philanthropic organizations.

Combat Stress Chair:
Mike Sloan

Michael I. Sloan is a Marine combat veteran, and a veteran of the Maryland Army National Guard.  Mike has degrees from the American University, BS in international studies in Washington D.C., Masters of Information Sciences from George Washington University in Washington D.C.   Mike worked many years as a federal contractor, and contractor for numerous civilian firms in large scale integration work.  Contracting with or for such firms as SAIC, ASEC, ATT, MCI, Sprint, SMS in addition to his own firm of MIS consulting.  Mike is the co-founder of American Combat Veterans Of War (ACVOW) and has been active in the San Diego Veterans community since 2000.  He is a life member of the Military Order of the Purple Heart, Disabled American Veterans, and the Khe Sahn Veterans association.

Prior Years Board Members

2012                                                                                                                                                                                               Chairman – Jack Harkins

1st Vice Chair – Kathy Bruyere

2nd Vice Chair – Toni Lopez

Treasurer – David Moran

Communications Chair: Bob Phillips

Legislative Chair: Steve Arends


Chairman – Tom Richards
1st Vice Chair - Tess Banko
2nd Vice Chair - Toni Lopez
Treasurer - Allen Miliefsky
Veterans Community Elder Statesman:
General Bob Cardenas USAF (Ret)
Communications Committee Chair:
Bob Phillips


Chairman —Waldo J. Brunner
Secretary —  Dan DeMarco
First Vice Chairman — Nathaniel Donnelly
Second Vice Chairman — John Stryker Meyer
Treasurer — David Moran
Women’s Advocate : Kathy Bruyere
Veterans Community Elder Statesman — General Bob Cardenas USAF (Ret)
Communications Committee Chair — Bob Phillips

Chairman — Thomas A. Richards

Chairman — Thomas A. Richards

Chairman — Thomas A. Richards

Chairman —  Waldo J. Brunner

Chairman —  Waldo J. Brunner

Chairman — Waldo J. Brunner

Chairman —  Larry Johnson

Chairman —  Larry Johnson

Chairman — John A. Smith


Chairman — John A. Smith

Chairman — Gen Bob Cardenas

Chairman — Gen Bob Cardenas

Chairman — Pete Houben

Chairman — Dan Kreyling


Chairman — Dan Kreyling


Chairman — Dan Kreyling